How to launch a podcast on your own?

First of all let me congratulate you on your decision to make podcasts. Welcome to the podcasting world. You will love it.

Ok. So I have made some mistakes, I don’t really want others to do the same. So here is my guide to launch a podcast based on my experience in the podcasting world.


1. Core of Podcasting – Microphone. Get a new microphone, please don’t buy 10$ microphones(I bought a 7$ one at first, I know right?) or use your mobile earpiece. There are lot of good microphones out there, but for a start, you can go with Samson Meteor Mic. This was my second microphone after I stopped using my cheapo microphone. Since this is an USB microphone, you can connect it to your laptop and record easily.
Here is the link for it. I got it for around 50$.

 Samson Meteor Microphone

Also, Based on your need, you may buy a pop filter(any one will do) and a mic stand(go for Samson’s itself as it will be perfect fit for the mic you buy). Plus you will get a Samson noise reduction recording software which I pretty good for noise free recording.


 

2. Brainstorm with your fellow podcasters or friends for good attractive names which kind of say what your podcasting service is going to cater to the people. But if you are famous enough you can chose your own name as the podcast’s name. Something like “The Joe Rogan Experience” or “The Dave Ramsey Show” 😀 I prefer some real good name for the podcast as that’s what will drive people into listening to your podcast(unless you are really famous). Some good names like “stuff you missed in history class” (I missed a lot of stuff in history class, but I love history. I wouldn’t scroll down without trying this channel), “tubelight podcasts”(tubelightpodcasts.com – tubelight is slang word for someone who takes a while to understand stuff)


3. Figure out what you want to talk about. Pick something you love. History, sports, music, sci-fi, tech, cars, tourism, anything. Wait, you love everything equally? Well, you are not alone. Its your podcast, express yourself. Some of the interesting podcasts which I liked – Investment Strategy , Stuff you wanna know


4. Very important. Find a recording room. Go to some conference room and record, maybe your library has some closed rooms – try them.


5. Get an editing software. Audacity is a free editing software. Easy to use too.


6. Intro music and end theme – Now that you have decided to make a podcast, why not make it awesome. Try Garage band for your own music \m/. Or you will get people in Fiverr who will sell some 300 royalty free tracks for 5$, you can buy that. It will be useful.


7. You are all set, now next level. Record your podcasts, edit it, launch it on your website. Create RSS feed and submit it to iTunes. Fingers crossed. If everything goes well you will be in the world’s largest repository for podcasts.


Hope this helped. Happy podcasting. Do let me know your progress.

One thought on “How to launch a podcast on your own?

  1. What is good software for podcasting?

    When it comes to podcasting software, you may have to start off with some free software which will get the job done without having to shell out any money from your pocket. Let me take you through the steps one by one: Recording: Audacity-Audacity is a…

    Like

Leave a comment